Campden BRI logo
Join a Member Interest Group

Scientific and Technical Committee (STC)

The Scientific and Technical Committee (STC) steers Campden BRI’s scientific and technical activities at a strategic level. It also oversees the Member Interest Group (MIG) system, ensuring that the fourteen Member Interest Groups meet the needs of members. It’s main terms of reference are:-

It is supported in this role by the Member Interest Group Activities Working Group (MAWG), which comprises the Chairs of the fourteen Member Interest Groups and senior Campden BRI staff, and which reports to STC. The terms of reference for MAWG include:-

Campden BRI Scientific and Technical Committee


Dr. Simon Branch


Mr. Simon Alison

Pret a Manger

Mr. Nick Bassett / Mr. Calum Murray

Innovate UK


Mr. Steve Batchford

Sainsbury´s Supermarkets Ltd.


Mrs. Jacky Bowes

William Jackson Food Group


Mr. Patrick Carter

Marks & Spencer Ltd.


Mr. Mark Charlton

Allied Technical Centre


Mr. Bob Clarke

Fenton Packaging


Dr. Rajesh Dhami

Pladis Global


Dr. Lucy Foster / Dr. Sophie Rollinson



Dr. Lorna Friis / Mr. James Phillips



Ms. Lynn Furnival

Weetabix Ltd.


Dr. Jan–Maarten Geertman



Mr. Bob Heygate

Heygates Ltd.


Mr. Chris Holland

Holmach Ltd.


Mr. David James

AkzoNobel Packaging Coatings


Mr. Brett Jeffery

Mars Snackfood UK


Dr. Daniel Kerruish



Mr. Patrick Lesueur

Bonduelle Europe


Ms. Ursula Lavery

Moy Park Ltd.


Mr. Bruce Linter

PepsiCo International Ltd.


Mr. Simon Livings

Nestlé Product Technology Centre


Ms. Ruth McDonald

Samworth Brothers Ltd.


Ms. Clare Menezes



Mr. David Rose



Ms. Lorna Schneider

Hilton Food Group


Mr. Mark Shippey

Samworth Brothers Ltd.


Mr. Brian Walsh

Kraft Heinz


Mr. Richard Whitaker

Crown Packaging UK Plc.


Member Interest Group Chairs:




Mr. Stephen Greatbatch

Hovis Ltd. (Cereals, Milling and Baking)


Ms. Dawn Hardy

Unbar Rothon Ltd. (Meat and Poultry)


Miss Moria Howie

Waitrose Ltd. (Nutrition and Health)


Mr. Ian Rogerson

Co-Operative Retail (Fermented and Alcoholic Drinks)


Ms. Ashleigh Moore

Gregg's Plc. (Food Service)


Mr. Bruce Lambourne

Mizkan Europe Ltd. (Quality and Food Safety Management)


Mr. Peter Littleton

Klenzan Ltd. (Processing, Operations and Preservation)


Dr. Gavin Milligan

William Jackson Food Group (Agri–Food)


Ms. Debra Smith

Vikan Ltd. (Microbiology)


Ms. Hannelize van Zyl

Heineken Supply Chain Ltd. (Sensory and Consumer)


Mr. Stuart Jones

Warburtons Ltd. (Food and Drink Science)

Scientific Advisers:

Dr. Gus Atri


Dr. Sterling Crew